Black Owned Hair Care Products

Hey everyone! I’m back with another blog post about *drum roll* natural hair care products– BLACK OWNED natural hair care products to be exact. For the longest, I’ve used Shea Moisture products, but after their whole marketing fiasco, I decided to look into other Black owned hair care lines. (Besides, I’ve been wanting to try new products on my hair for a while to see if I could find something to add to my holy grail list!) So I headed to the store and purchased a couple of products from my local beauty supply store and Target. Below I’ll list the prices and my review on them and let you know if they’ll make it to my Holy Grail of Hair Products, enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

  1. The Mane Choice
    • Daily Moisturizer and Sealing Cream ($16.99)* This isn’t like a typical sealant I would use, I typically use heavier creams to seal in moisture, but this is an exception. I do like this cream though because it doesn’t weigh my hair down and it smells nice.
    • 3-in-1 Revitalize & Refresh Conditioner ($12.99)* When I first used this, the smell immediately reminded me of this oatmeal conditioner I use on my dogs (lol– not to say it smells bad). It can be used as a co-wash, leave-in, or detangler– I use it as a leave-in because otherwise, I’d probably use a whole bunch of it, and as you can see, it’s pretty pricey. The consistency of it is like a regular conditioner, it’s pretty light and doesn’t weigh my hair down.
    • Holy Grail Material? Yes. I do like both of these products and they both work well on my hair together and really does moisturize my hair. Also, both products are infused with biotin which is supposed to strengthen hair, decrease breakage and increase elasticity. I wouldn’t mind trying other products from this brand BUT I might have to catch it while it’s on sale.
  2. Oyin Handmade
    • Juices & Berries Nourishing Herbal Leave-In Hair Tonic ($13.99) I LOVE THIS STUFF! It smells sooooo good, like pink lemonade candy or something. It comes in a little spritzer bottle so I use it to spray my hair when it starts feeling kind of dry and it makes it really soft and manageable. I think this would be perfect to moisturize your hair when you have protective styles like box braids, marley twists, etc. in.
    • Hair Dew ($13.99) This also smells super duper good, it reminds me of a Bath & Body Works Scent– it has a warm vanilla type of smell. As far as the product goes, it’s like a light moisturizing cream. I’ve used it once and am personally am not a big fan of it, it left my hair feeling kind of soft but also had a greasy residue. I used it while my hair was only slightly damp so I might give it another shot on more damp hair and see how it turns out.
    • Holy Grail Material? This one is a big question mark… especially for the Hair Dew, I’ll have to give it another go and then give my answer on this one. I do think the Juices & Berries Spritz is one I would possibly buy again.
  3. Mielle Organics
    • Moisturizing Avocado Hair Milk ($12.99)* If any of you have ever smelled the Coconut Tropic Isle Living Jamaican Castor Oil, it kind of smells like that. Nice to use for moisturizing because it has an in-between kind of consistency– not too thick but not too thin either.
    • Holy Grail Material? Not sure, this is another one I’ll have to try again on my hair and see how it does. I feel like there are probably other products like this one that may be cheaper and work better for my hair to be honest.
  4. Curls
    • Blueberry Bliss Twist-N-Shout Cream ($11.99) This product is really thick and creamy which makes it perfect to use to seal in moisture. On top of that, it smells good so that’s a plus.
    • Holy Grail Material? I’d say yes, I do like this cream because it’s thick and smells great. I don’t think I’d use as an everyday moisturizer, maybe once a week after washing my hair. I also don’t think the price is too bad (especially in comparison to the other products I tried) considering the amount you get and since I wouldn’t be using it every day, I think it’d last for a bit.

Well, that’s it, folks. I’ll probably update my reviews once I reuse some of the products. Have you tried any products from Black owned hair care lines, if so what’s your favorite? Let me know in the comments!

*I purchased these products from the beauty supply and can’t remember the exact price, also you could probably get it cheaper at another retail store.

Leave a Reply

