My Wig Collection Series – Alexis

Hey everyone! So I decided to start a series of blog posts that are about the wigs I have gathered over the past year and a half or so.

I really like wigs because sometimes I really just don’t have the time or energy to put into doing my own hair. Wigs are super quick and easy and they give my hair a little break from manipulation which helps keep breakage to a minimum. They are also relatively inexpensive (when we’re talking about synthetic ones) and low maintenance. Also, they aren’t as much of a commitment as getting a sew in, you plop it on and can take it right back off when you need to.

As for my collection, I have quite a few wigs ranging in style and colors. I thought maybe if you guys are looking for wigs, you could use my blog posts as a reference to see how it looks on, price, etc.

Anyway…let’s get into it! This first one is a synthetic lace wig called Alexis by Sensationnel Empress. Below is a picture of the unit on the model from the site:

alexis

I purchased it last summer from a site called elevatestyles  in the color 2 and it cost $21.62. As you can see from the picture, it’s an L-part wig and you have the option to cut it at the part and blend your hair with it (I didn’t do all that, just wore it as is).

The wig fresh out the package does have a defined part, as I mentioned, but I went on and plucked it a little more to make it more natural. As far as the length, it’s a pretty long unit (it fell almost to my waist). It also has a layered cut to it and is shorter in the front and longer in the back.

I personally didn’t like the long look on me, my face just kind of got lost in all the hair lol. So, I decided to cut the unit into a cute, curly, bob-like style. Since it does have layers, it made the cutting pretty easy. I gathered the shorter strands in the front and kind of used them as a reference for how much I wanted to cut the longer strands. Below is the finished result:

alexis1alexis3alexis2

Lastly, I want to talk about the hair texture. Fresh out the box and not having worn it before, it was really soft to touch and easy to run my fingers through. BUT after wearing it one time, it has already gotten a little tangled which I guess is something to expect with synthetic curly hair. All in all, I do really like this wig and it doesn’t shed much. I think it’s perfect for a casual, everyday kind of wig.

That’s all I’ve got! I give this wig a 8/10.

If you have any questions, leave them in the comments! Thanks for reading! Also for more pictures of me rocking this wig, check out my Fashion for a Cause blog post!

Leave a Reply

