make-a-difference

But What Can I Do?

Over the past couple of months, there have been sooo many things happening that are impacting people around the world in terrible ways– from the water crisis in Flint, Michigan to the tragedies in Syria. It can be a bit much to handle at times and I’ve found myself kind of turning a blind eye to it… and it’s not because I want to, but because I always have this internal thought process of “wow, that is terrible… but what can I (one person) do to help.” I don’t have millions of dollars to donate. I can’t travel half way across the country to physically be there and offer my help. So what can I do? There’s this feeling of hopelessness– as if I don’t have enough power to make a difference in something that is happening on such a large scale.

However, I’m beginning to realize that thought process is quite selfish of me. If individuals in our past had that mentality, we would not be where we are today. I, as a black women in America, would not have the opportunities that I have today–and though there is still progress to be made, it’s progress. And so, I’m challenging myself to ask myself “how can I help?” Regardless of how large the problem may seem, it is our duty as human beings to take care of one another and help each other in any way we can– and that doesn’t always have to mean giving back in a financial sense, but being vocal and speaking out about these things, being empathetic to problems we see in other communities, dedicating our time to service.

Personally, I think a lot of the times I get so wrapped up in how stressful my own life can get and don’t really take a moment to reflect on how blessed I am and what privileges I have. Those privileges are ones that I can use to ultimately help those who aren’t as fortunate as me. And this is not to say that my or your problems don’t matter, but it’s realizing that just like ourselves, people around the world are facing things, and being able to empathize, to care, to make an effort and take action, can make a world of a difference even if there is just one you! 🙂

make-a-difference

 

Leave a Reply

