deja-preuitt-umano

Fashion for a Cause

A few weeks ago, my friend and I went to a umano sample sale. For those of you who aren’t familiar with the company, here’s a little background: umano is a company that was founded by two UGA alumni (GO DAWGS!) with a mission to give back and inspire creativity in kids. The company travels to schools across the country and provides students with a backpack full of art supplies, allowing kids to let their imaginations run wild and draw whatever they feel. umano then brings those drawings to life on the pocket of t-shirts that they go on to sell on their website (learn more about their process of giving here).

Also check out some of their blog posts below and learn more about umano’s values and mission:

Anyway, I first learned about this brand in my college marketing class and I thought that it was a phenomenal idea and purpose that they had. So, when I heard they would be having a sample sale with prices as low as $5, naturally I knew I had to go buy some shirts (which usually sell for around $40). The shirts are handpicked, designed, and printed all by umano. The t-shirts have designs ranging from dogs to a PB & J sandwich, and they are all so cute!

I ended up purchasing two shirts: one for $5, which has a repeated design of a boy (?) on the pocket

umano shirt

The other was a black v-neck with a robot design on the pocket for $10, which I absolutely love (and of course had to do a little photoshoot in)!

umano-shirt

All in all, I’m so happy I stopped by the sale and picked them up. Even further, I’m happy that my money is going towards something meaningful. Being able to express yourself as a kid is something that I think is extremely important and I think is one of the first steps in kids developing their confidence and finding their voice.

Unfortunately, umano will be closing shop at the end of this month and because of this they’ll be having an end of journey sale with shirts up to 70% off. I highly encourage you all to check it out and pick up a shirt or two knowing that your money is going toward something that has had a positive impact on so many children’s lives. How do you strive to make a positive impact in the lives of those around you? Let me know in the comments!

Check out some more shots of me in my umano shirt below! Shout out to my wonderful friend Claire for taking these pictures! 🙂

 

One thought on “Fashion for a Cause

Leave a Reply

