Curls Just Wanna Have Fun

So my first year in college, I took an English composition course and we were able to write about whatever our little hearts desired. I, of course, chose to write about natural hair. More specifically my journey to natural hair and all the setbacks, triumphs, experimenting that came along with it. At the time, I think I had just seen the Chris Rock documentary Good Hair and I really wanted to touch on the subject of natural hair in a deeper manner. I wanted to dive into the idea of societal expectations and feeling this pressure to conform in order to fit “ideal beauty standards.” I really think this natural hair movement has paved the way for self-love and self acceptance within the black community. So without further ado… my piece “Curls Just Wanna Have Fun,” Enjoy! Let me know what you guys think in the comments & share your hair journey with me! 🙂

Curls Just Wanna Have Fun-Revised

Leave a Reply

