Avoiding Heat Damage When Flat Ironing Natural Hair

Hey guys,

So this Easter weekend I decided to straighten my hair! I’m always so scared to do this because *dun dun dunnnn* HEAT DAMAGE, but I also make sure to take the necessary steps to protect my hair. I also wanted to straighten my natural hair so I could trim my ends because boyyy did they need trimming. So basically I’ll just give you guys a list of products used and how I prep & protect my hair for heat styling.

Step 1: The night before straightening my hair I deep conditioned with my Tresemme natural conditioner and Shea Moisture Manuka Honey deep conditioner. I slept with it in with a shower cap and scarf on top. (I also did a hot oil treatment before deep conditioning)

Step 2: Next morning I co-washed and made sure to completely get rid of all of the product in my hair because product build-up equals stiff hair and a smoking flat iron lol

Step 3: I sectioned my hair into six sections and applied Tresemme Thermal Creations heat protectant spray and proceeded to blow dry each section

Step 4: I let my flat iron heat up and applied Chi EnviroCare Smoothing Serum onto each blow dried section. While flat ironing, it’s important to make sure you’re doing small sections so that you won’t have to run it over your hair 3 and 4 times. I usually pass the flat iron once over the section by itself and then another time using a rat-tail comb. Once the section is straight I cut off the ends that are raggedy and frizzy.

Step 5: I like to seal my hair with oil after straightening it just to give it a little extra shine and moisture. For this I use Renewing Argain OIl of Morocco (I love, love, love this stuff– smells great and it’s not a heavy oil so it doesn’t weigh your hair down)

That’s it! If you guys have any questions or want me to post a picture of products I use to straighten my natural hair, let me know in the comments! Thanks for reading, here’s a little before & after pic 🙂

straightnaturalhair

s

Leave a Reply

