My Staple Natural Hair Products

Hey guys!

This post is going to be all about my staple natural hair products. Now, as I mentioned before, you have to find products that are going to work for your hair. Back when I first started the transitioning process, I had no clue where to start and I got frustrated with every purchase I made that didn’t work. I’ve been through so many different leave-ins, deep conditioners, styling products and these are what I have found leave my hair moisturized and in great shape! So let’s get into it!

my staple natural hair products

Conditioners:

  • Pantenne Pro-V Natural Co-Wash Cleansing Conditioner (not pictured)- because I hardly ever use shampoo, I love using this co-wash conditioner from Pantenne’s natural line. It provides great slip and restores moisture back into my hair after cleansing with harsh shampoos. It’s also a great price for the amount that comes in the bottle!
  • One n’ Only Argan Oil Moisture Repair Conditioner- I use this as a rinse out conditioner and usually use it following co-washing just to add a little extra moisture. It has a sort of thick consistency and the smell isn’t that great but it is still a great conditioner to use to replenish moisture.

Deep Conditioners:

  • TRESemme Naturals Nourishing Moisture Conditioner- nice smell and great price! I use this combined with my Shea Moisture Manuka Honey deep conditioner and if I run out of my usual co-wash, I’ll also use it for that. It leaves my hair soft, manageable, and it’s so much easier to detangle thanks to the slip of this product.
  • Shea Moisture Manuka Honey & Mafura Oil Intensive Hydration Hair Masque- love, love, love this deep conditioner! I ran across it in Target and fell in love with the scent. It is a little more expensive but it was definitely worth buying in my eyes (plus 10% of the profit goes toward fighting poverty!) Of course, since it is a deep conditioner it has a thick, creamy consistency. I leave it in over night with a shower cap and rinse out in the morning and it leaves my curls bouncy and soft. Personally I like to mix this conditioner with my TRESemme just to be able to stretch the amount I have and it is great!

Oils:

  • Vitamin E Oil/ Jamaican Black Castor Oil mix- I initially bought Vitamin E oil to use as a moisturizer for my face and then began doing research and found that it’s also good for natural hair. It helps restore hair follicles, thus encouraging hair growth! So, now I mix it with my Jamaican Black Castor Oil and massage it into my scalp every night before going to sleep. I also love using the mixture to seal my ends.
  • Spectrum Organic Coconut Oil- Of course, we can’t talk about staple natural hair products without talking about Coconut Oil. Coconut oil, as you may know, has various benefits for your body, skin, nails, and hair. It aids in reducing hair loss, retaining moisture, hair conditioning, etc. I use my coconut oil to take down styles like braidouts, twistouts, bantu-knot outs, etc. just to add more shine and moisture to it.
  • Tropic Isle Living Red Pimento Hair Growth Oil (not pictured)- this is great for hot oil treatments it contains Jamaican Red Pimento Oil (of course), Jamaican Black Castor Oil, Coconut Oil, & Wheat Germ. I like to warm it and apply to my entire head from root to ends and leave in for about 30 minutes (especially when I’m reverting my hair from straight back to curly). It gives this little tingle on your scalp (so I know it’s working lol) and really works into your hair shaft to restore moisture and repair dry, brittle ends. After 30 minutes, I’ll rinse it and co-wash my hair.

Leave-Ins:

  • Shea Moisture Raw Shea Butter Restorative Conditioner- this has been my A1 since day 1 product. When I first started my natural hair journey I only used this as a rinse out and I didn’t like it very much so I kind of threw it to the side for a couple of months. Later down the line, I gave it another chance as a leave-in and it is bomb! It has a great consistency to use it to style your natural hair. I use it religiously and it gives my styles shine and a soft, fluffy, texture.
  • Shea Moisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen, Grow & Restore Leave-In Conditioner- in contrast to the restorative conditioner, this is more of a watery type of leave in. I’m not very fond of the smell but it’s a great product nonetheless. I recently started using it with my restorative conditioner as a leave in and my hair is 10x softer, shinier, and more flawless! *hair flip* lol but seriously this is a great leave in and you get a lot in the container.

Gel/ Edge Control (not pictured):

  • EcoStyler Argan Oil Gel- now this is the holy grail of natural hair gel! You can use it for edges, twist-outs, wash-n-gos, etc. and the great thing about it is it doesn’t leave those flakes in your hair (if you’re using a reasonable amount). It also isn’t one of those drying gels that leave your hair feeling coarse and crunchy. If you’re sleeping on EcoStyler Gel, it’s time to wake up ladies!
  • Aloe Vera Gel- this is great if you aren’t a big fan of scented hair products. For me, I only use it for my edges because it doesn’t have enough hold to use as a styler for my entire head. I once tried to use it for a wash-n-go and all I can say is NEVER again.
  • Eden BodyWorks Coconut Shea Control Edge Glaze- this edge control is heaven sent! It has a great smell, it’s not too hard and it keeps your edges laid. However, if you use too much it will leave your edges white, I repeat: IT WILL LEAVE YOUR EDGES WHITE! so be sure to use it sparingly, a little definitely goes a long way!

Finding the perfect products for your hair can definitely be a trying task and it will take patience and trial and error. For me, it took almost 2 years to find products that work for me, so just be patient, research, and don’t be discouraged if what works for your favorite YouTube natural hair guru doesn’t work for you! No two curl patterns are exactly the same!

What are some of your favorite natural hair products?

2 thoughts on “My Staple Natural Hair Products

Leave a Reply

